No Frame  |  Saint Louis University Philippines  -  Saint Louis University Philippines

Saint Louis University Philippines

n 1907 the CICM missionaries arrived in the Philippines mandated by the Vatican to Christianize the northern part of the country.The missionaries settled in Baguio because of its proximity to Manila and the mountain province of Benguet beyond the Cordillera mountain range that was home to numerous indigenous tribes. In 1911 Rev. Fr. S raphin Devesse CICM founded a one-room elementary school in Baguio for ten local boys naming it the Saint Louis School.

In 1915 the St. Louis School expanded becoming a vocational and trade school. In 1915 the school opened a secondary branch. In 1952 the combined efforts of Msgr. William Brasseur and Rev. Fr. Rafael Desmedt founded Saint Louis College then consisting of three departments Education Liberal Arts and Commerce and Secretarial.

In 1955 the graduate-level programs of Saint Louis College were granted recognition. The real turning point came on 13 May 1963 when Saint Louis College was conferred University status by the Philippine government. The school started with only 75 students with Gerard Decaestecker CICM as the first rector. Other courses and developments soon followed under the guidance of the following rectors/presidents

Dates Rectors/Presidents

1952-54 Gerard Decaestecker
1954-62 Albert Van Overbeke
1962-64 Gerard Linssen
1964-76 Paul Zwaenepoel
1976-83 Ghisleen De Vos
1983-96 Joseph Van den Daelen
1996 2005 Paul Van Parijs
2005 present Jessie M. Hechanova