No Frame  |  Cordillera Administrative Region  -  Cordillera Administrative Region

Cordillera Administrative Region


On June 18 1966 Republic Act No. 4695[2] was enacted to split Mountain Province into four separate and independent provinces and Kalinga-Apayao.

Prior to the formal creation of Cordillera Administrative Region as a consequence of the constitutional mandate under the 1987 Philippine Constitution the former four provinces was loosely under Cagayan Valley Region while the fifth province Abra was grouped under Ilocos Region.

On July 15 1987 President Corazon C. Aquino issued Executive Order No. 220 which created the Cordillera Administrative Region that included Mountain Province Benguet Ifugao Kalinga-Apayao and annexed the province of Abra as part of the Cordillera Administrative Region.

On February 14 1995 Kalinga-Apayao one of the five provinces of the region was split into two separate and independent provinces of Apayao and Kalinga with the enactment of Republic Act No. 7878.[2]

Several attempts at legalizing autonomy in the Cordillera region have failed in two separate plebiscites. An affirmative vote for the law on regional autonomy is a precondition by the 1987 Philippine Constitution to give the region autonomy in self-governance much like the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao in southern Philippines. The first law Republic Act No. 6766 took effect on October 23 1989 but failed to muster a majority vote in the plebiscite on January 30 1990.[3] The second law Republic Act No. 8438 passed by Congress of the Philippines on December 22 1997 also failed to pass the approval of the Cordillera peoples in a region-wide referendum on March 7 1998.

At present a third organic act of the Cordillera is in the offing supported by the Cordillera Regional Development Council.